“INNER CHILD SPEAKS”, re-posted (Part 1)


compulsionIC:  I HAVE A LOT TO SAY
if only someone would listen!

PREVIOUS: Talking to the Inner Child (# 5)

SITE: Inner Child POEM

NOTE to MEN: While the following monologue by the Inner Child is clearly a girl talking to her female adult-self, the thoughts & feelings are just as true coming from your little boy being said to your adult-man, so please substitute ‘HIM / himself’ where it applies. You may not want to sound quite as mushy in places, so find the words that suit your own style, always keeping it positive, respectful & kind.

COMMENT: You may notice that the ‘Adult’ being talked to in this writing sounds sometimes like the Bad Parent & sometimes like an OK but weak Adult. Neither is fully the Healthy Adult / Loving Parent ego state (the UNIT) we are aiming for, as outlined in many post on this blog. However, it’s also true that the child doesn’t always understand how adults think or what motivates them, but much of that can be explained with patience & love.

WRITER: Marie T Russell, (1996), publisher of InnerSelf Magazine.   Reprinted in full, as is.

The INNER CHILD SITS & WAITS. It waits patiently for the adult to notice it, to talk to it. It wonders how many more nights, months, or years it must wait. It asks itself: “How can I get her attention? How can I get her to talk to me, to listen to me?”

It thinks back of its past experience with parents and teachers and remembers that many times, to get attention, one had to be ‘bad’ or naughty. That always got attention. So it wonders… if I am the inner child, how can I be ‘bad’ or naughty and get the attention of my adult self? The child, trusting her intuition, does what comes up.

The adult finds herself compulsively eating, getting into fits of anger, sadness, and fear. As a rational adult, she cannot see where this behavior is coming from. As a conscious pechild crying outrson, she feels that this has to do with some unresolved issues. “What are they? What is the problem here?” she questions.

The child cries out! “Listen to me! Pay attention to me! I can help you. I have many insights for you, and much joy. We can have so much fun together, so many experiences of love and laughter. Reach in to me. Touch me, feel me, heal me, and I in turn will touch you, feel you, and heal you.”

The adult feels confused. She feels the need to nurture and be nurtured. She senses that she is wounded, yet cannot see the wound. She feels that something is trying to come to the surface. What is it?

The child cries out: “It’s me! I’m here crying out for you. I need you. I love you. I can be your partner, your helper, your guide. All you need is to start acknowledging my presence. Stop ignoring me. Stop pretending that you are all grown up and are past ‘that’ stage. Come back to earth. Come back to being present in this body — after all it’s the only one you got and it’s all ours. Yours and mine. The inner child and the adult.

“I am the part of you that you have hidden inside — the sensitive one, the caring loving one, the exuberant one! That’s me! You have become the serious one, the one that has no time to play, to simply be. You are the busy one… wanting to do better, to improve, to advance your growth, your career, your relationship, etc. I simply want to be — mostly joyful and happy.

“It’s ok to be sad now and then, but I don’t like to stretch that stuff out. I feel it, let it out, and move on! The adult that you are seems to enjoy mucking around in that stuff. Not me! I’m a child, and I want to play and enjoy life. I don’t believe that we are here to be miserable. I think some miserable people made that up so that everyone would be miserable like them. Well, I don’t buy it! I trash that thought!

“I think that God made us and God loves us, and He/She surely wants us to be happy! After god-loves-meall, don’t all parents want their children to be happy, deep down? It’s just that because they have buried their own inner child, they think that happy means having a good job, a big house, secure income, and all that stuff. We inner children know that is all crap. What’s important is the love and the joy and the simplicity. We don’t need fancy toys. We just need a loving lap that we can sit on and feel loved. And then we can make up toys as we go along…..

NEXT: Part 2 of “Letter from the Child”

2 thoughts on ““INNER CHILD SPEAKS”, re-posted (Part 1)

  1. Your style is really unique in comparison to other people I’ve read stuff from. I appreciate you for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I will just bookmark this page.

Leave a Reply

